top of page
Emmaus FHE
Emmaus FHE

mié 07 de sep

|

Zoom

Emmaus FHE

Join us each month for a gathering that is both church and radically LGBTQ affirming.

Registration is closed
See other events

Horario y ubicación

07 sep 2022, 8:30 p.m. GMT-4

Zoom

Acerca del evento

Dear Friends, you're invited to Emmaus FHE, on Wednesday, Sept. 7 (5:30 Pacific/6:30 Mountain/7:30 Central/8:30 Eastern). Betsy & Kirk Dearden, from the DC 3rd Ward, will be our featured speakers. They will share their journey of radical acceptance and unconditional love. Betsy and Kirk are strong allies who fiercely love and support their LGBTQ siblings in the Church. They are truly angels among us.

*

Betsy's and Kirk's bio: "Betsy and Kirk Dearden are the parents of four children who are either LGBTQ or lifelong allies. They are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and met (though Kirk won’t admit it) in the basement of the BYU library. Betsy finished her degree at BYU and Kirk migrated to Boston University and then to Alabama for grad school. Betsy has taught high school math in Utah, Massachusetts, and overseas. She currently provides daycare to two children (one of whom is her grandson). Kirk works at an NGO in the Washington DC area and designs, implements, and evaluates nutrition programs in lower-income countries. Betsy and Kirk belong to the Washington DC 3rd ward and enjoy participating in an ethnically diverse and LGBTQ-affirming congregation. Betsy grew up overseas. Kirk is from Connecticut. Together, they have lived in Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Tanzania, and seven US states."

*

FHE Zoom Link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4158293100?pwd=TmhiMTNhNDU0UlpScTRZaGIrV3BqZz09

Meeting ID: 415 829 3100

Passcode: 5r6Asp

*

Learn more about Emmaus at https://www.emmauslgbtq.org. Emmaus is LGBTQ-affirming and Church-affirming and is supported by local Church leaders. We believe that there is a place for all LGBTQ people in God's family. Emmaus FHE typically takes place on the first Monday of the month (except on holidays) and uses the same FHE Zoom link.

*

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Carson Perez, who is an active, gay member of the Bethesda Ward: carson@emmauslgbtq.org. Salamat/Gracias/Thank You!

Compartir este evento

bottom of page